Circling Taiwain Swirl – Soap Challenge

Lotus Dream                                                                soap-challenge-club-logo230


 

PHOTO_20160117_095648

 

This month’s challenge really was an exercise of mental stability and fortitude. Developing an entire loaf of soap to achieve two perfect pieces of soap that in turn forms one perfect lotus like flower blob. Oh boy! O_o

I really did enjoy the experience, when I wasn’t cursing, dropping spoons, and knocking over bowls. Cutting the soap was probably the most stressful soaping experience I’ve had to date. After spending so much time, effort, and cash, the cut that doesn’t produce is like a lottery ticket that doesn’t win (ok, a bit exaggerative but you get the point).

I winced at each slice and I sliced a lot.

As I sat back and eyed all this soap I’d made, I saw that I had been missing something. So, the bars aren’t like the pieces of artwork given as examples but I thought there might be hope for them yet. I clean them up, steamed some of them, and even stamped them. Once all of this happened I saw that I had a beautiful pile of soap bars. Sure some of them are a little misshapen, I cut them all by hand, and sure the lotus flower is elusive, but look at what I’ve learned and experienced first hand. I intend to practice the technique occasionally in pursuit of the perfect elusive lotus and while I’m at it create a few more unique bars along the way. Happy Soaping and once again, thank you for the challenge! 😀


Making the soap 

PHOTO_20160109_094742Of course I don’t have dividers yet so resorted to chopping up boxes and trimming them to size, sort of.

I also didn’t have tape. Therefore, I increased my soap recipe to account for some loss as I pulled the partitions out of my mold. I did not scrape them off as I pulled because I didn’t want to chance somehow picking up box along with the soap. AND, I really didn’t have time.

Stupidly, I decided to use an untried floral fragrance in my first batch and of course the soap batter riced on me almost immediately. I grabbed at my spoon and swirled away hoping to salvage the soap.

My second loaf I used a PHOTO_20160110_073001tested fragrance and achieved a lovely consistency that swirled perfectly….except I got carried away with the swirling, LOL. You can see here, the one on the right riced, the one on the left I really swirled!

So these were my first two attempts. I will not bore you with all of the details and steps.

Of course, I had to attempt the soap again. And again.

If I had time and more oil to spare, I might be tempted to try once more. I decided that dividers might be of use.

 

 32 bars of challenge soap

PHOTO_20160117_082639PHOTO_20160117_083245

 

 

 

 

 

 

PHOTO_20160117_103049

PHOTO_20160117_104643 PHOTO_20160117_104631

PHOTO_20160117_104423

 

Korpikoski the cat wanted to help…

15 thoughts on “Circling Taiwain Swirl – Soap Challenge

  1. I Love your soap! The colors are beautiful and you have a ton of bars to show all your hard work. the experience you learned to get to the final loaf was well worth it don’t you think! Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here’s what I love about your soaps: 1. They are super colorful. 2. They all demonstrate the technique – even the one that riced looks pretty awesome! 3. You never gave up! Your entry definitely resembles a lotus flower!! Thank you for sharing all your soaps with us – what worked and what didn’t. You are well on your way to being an “experienced” soapmaker!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Susan ❤ They make me happy too. I love trying. At first I was grumpy and then I saw lots of pretty okay soap. Not bad for newbie. What's super awesome is learning from everyone here!!!!!!! I'll get there 🙂

      Like

    1. I really need to work on achieving a consistently fluid soap for these challenges 🙂 Pretty awesome thing to need to (get to) work on if you ask me. I wanna be like you when I grow up!

      Like

      1. I always have a problem with thin trace. I usually just don’t stick blend long enough but for the Taiwan I used Palm, olive, coconut and sweet almond in equal amounts and it worked great, stayed very workable and fluid. It is all practice hey? lol

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sly ❤

      I don't quite feel like the lotus actually happened based on our examples but came close for sure. I can't help being a perfectionist 😉 Soap is teaching me though to lighten up a bit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

